Minutes of 2021 AGM

Please click here to view PDF file


Minutes of the AGM held at Sunridge Pk G.C.

On October 11th, 2019


The president Jim Silvester opened the meeting by welcoming all present and thanking them for remaining for the AGM.

30 members are present and apologies from Peter Johnson and Barry Martyn.

Secretary’s report

All competition results and photos are now entered on the web site as soon as the game is over. In future the top 3 players in the player of the year will also go on the web site after each qualifying game.

A brief outline was then given on the planning for the 25th anniversary game & dinner, a copy is attached to the minutes.

Dave Parker Hon Sec then handed over to Nigel Courtney who will now be the AKVG Hon Sec from the 12th October 2019.

Nigel now gave a detailed report on the work he has been carrying out on next years handicap changes and how it will affect the AKVG. Since the AGM Nigel has been inContact with the Kent golf Union and has had some positive feedback. One of these was that all members should know there CDH number. This will be entered on the 2020 membership card.

A copy of the 2020 fixtures will sent to all reps so that members can plan for 2020 also a save the date for the 25th anniversary.

Peter Johnson the membership secretary could not attend and gave the secretary he’s report to read out. This informed those present that we have 945 members in 39 clubs this was up by 100 on 2018 and that for the coming year the membership fee will increase by £1. The present fee of £2 has remained at that for the past 25years. Peter reminded those present that fees should all be paid by 31st January.

Jim Silvester then informed the meeting that the question of casual dress after a game had been asked by a member. After a brief discussion it was decide that the present dress code would remain, but the option of smart casual would be up to individual members.

The results of this years visit to the West Country Tour were read out and we lost both matches. Devon will be playing us at Bearstead in 2020 and yet Cornwall have not committed. If any member would like to play, please get in touch with Jim.

Martyn Dines Treasurer gave a brief outline of our expenses and cash holding at year end 2018.We have subsidised matches in 2019 and this has depleted our cash holding to just over £6000. It was felt that this figure should not get any lower.

The committee proposed that £2000 be donated to the Kent Air Ambulance and £1000 to the captain’s charity this was voted on and all present agreed.



Election of officers

President Jim Silvester is willing to stand

Vice president Ian Fright is willing to stand

Membership Sec Peter Johnson is willing to stand

Secretary Nigel Courtney is willing to stand

Treasurer Martyn Dines will stand for one more year only

All was proposed and passed by members present

Election of committee members

1 Bob Coles

2 Reg Greenwood

3 Brian Rayner out going captain

4 Vacant

5 Vacant

6 Vacant

Brian Rayner the retiring captain gave a thank you speech to everyone present and introduced the captain for 2020 Dave Parker. Dave thanked Brian for the great job he had done in 2019 and was looking forward to 2020 our 25th anniversary. Dave then introduced he’s vice-captain Martyn Dines.

With no other business the meeting closed.